#### GOVERNORS STATE UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES

#### Academic Affairs Committee Minutes of the Thursday, April 29, 2021 Meeting

*Note: As permitted by Illinois Governor Executive Order Number 2021-06, dated April 2, 2021, the April 29, 2021, Academic Affairs Committee meeting was held via Zoom.* 

# Call to Order and Roll Call

The video conference meeting of the Academic Affairs Committee of the GSU Board of Trustees for Thursday, April 29, 2021 was called to order by Chair Kvedaras at 9:02am. Roll call was taken and committee members John Brudnak, Jim Kvedaras, and Anibal Taboas were in attendance.

Also in attendance:

Cheryl Green, President W. Paul Bylaska, Vice President for Administration and Finance Elizabeth A. Cada, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Therese King Nohos, Vice President, General Counsel, and Interim Vice President of Human Resources Penny Perdue, Chief of Administrative Operations and Liaison to the Board Catherine Balthazar, Dean, College of Health and Human Services Mushtaq Choudhary, Director of Auxiliary Services and Housing Theresa Booker, Telecommunications Engineer, Information Technology Services Will Davis, Vice President Institutional Advancement and Marketing and Communications Kristoffer Evangelista, Internal Auditor David Golland, Faculty, College of Arts and Sciences, Faculty Senate President Giesela Grumbach, Faculty, College of Health and Human Services, Faculty Senate Representative Rosemary Johnsen, Associate Provost and Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs James McGee, Chief of Police Paul McGuinness, Assistant Vice President for Enrollment Management and Director of Admissions David Rhea, Faculty, College of Arts and Sciences, Director of Center for Junior Year and University Honors Program Colleen Sexton, Associate Provost and Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs Jeff Stevenson, Director and Curator of the Nathan Manilow Sculpture Park and Visual Arts Gallery Tracy Sullivan, Assistant Vice President of Procurement and Business Services Mark Tyler, GSU Student, President of Student Senate Catherine Tymkow, Faculty, CHHS, Faculty Senate Representative

Kayla Warner, GSU Student, Chair of Honors Program Student Council Kaitlyn Anne Wild, Director of Compliance Corey Williams, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students Jun Zhao, Dean, College of Business Jason Zingsheim, Chair, College of Arts and Sciences

#### **Public Comment**

None

## **Approval of Minutes**

Chair Kvedaras asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the February 1, 2021 meeting of the Academic Affairs Committee. Trustee Brudnak motioned. Trustee Taboas seconded. The minutes were approved via a unanimous roll call vote.

### **Approval of Meeting Agenda**

Chair Kvedaras asked for a motion to approve the April 29, 2021 Academic Affairs Committee meeting agenda. Trustee Brudnak motioned, Trustee Taboas seconded. The meeting agenda was approved via a unanimous roll call vote.

## **Information Items**

Chair Kvedaras asked James McGee, GSU Chief of Police, to present a campus safety report. McGee presented, reporting that GSU remains one of the safest university campuses in Illinois and northern Indiana. Discussion ensued.

Chair Kvedaras asked Jeff Stevenson, Director and Curator of the Nathan Manilow Sculpture Park and the Visual Arts Gallery, to provide information about Professor Emeritus Arthur Bourgeois and the art collection he built and donated to the University. Stevenson presented. There was no discussion.

Chair Kvedaras asked David Rhea, Professor of Communications and Director of the Center for Junior Year and the University Honors Program, and Kayla Warner, GSU student and Chair of the Honors Program Student Council, to provide their report on the University Honors Program. Rhea and Warner presented. Discussion ensued.

Chair Kvedaras asked Beth Cada, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs, to provide an Academic Affairs update. Cada presented, explaining the recent revision of Policy 34, providing various accreditation updates, and congratulating faculty members newly promoted to full professor (Drs. Donald Culverson, David Green, Deborah James, Eveline Mengova, Kerri Morris, Josh Sopiarz, Christopher White) and Dr. Carlos Ferran for receiving a Professional Advancement Increase. There was no discussion.

### **Action Items**

Chair Kvedaras asked for a motion to approve a resolution recommendation to the full board regarding the award of tenure. Trustee Brudnak motioned. Trustee Taboas seconded. Beth Cada, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs, presented the recommendation to grant tenure to six GSU faculty members: Drs. Sayoni Bose, Marlon Cummings, Jelena Radovic Fanta, Giesela Grumbach, Li-Wei Peng, and Nicole Warmington-Granston. Discussion ensued. The motion passed unanimously on a roll call vote and the resolution will be recommended to the full board.

Chair Kvedaras asked for a motion to approve a resolution recommendation to the full board regarding the submittal of the academic year 20/21 program review to the Illinois Board of Higher Education (IBHE). Trustee Brudnak motioned. Trustee Taboas seconded. Beth Cada, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs, presented the motion. Discussion ensued. The motion passed unanimously on a roll call vote and the resolution will be recommended to the full board.

Chair Kvedaras asked for a motion to approve a resolution recommendation to the full board regarding the correction of a clerical error. Trustee Anibal motioned. Trustee Brudnak seconded. Therese King Nohos, Vice President, General Counsel, and Interim Vice President of Human Resources, presented the resolution. She explained that, in a clerical error, two resolutions were given the number 21-7. This resolution will rename one of the resolutions, regarding professor emeritus, to 21-7a. There was no discussion. The motion passed unanimously on a roll call vote and the resolution will be recommended to the full board.

There being no old or new business, the meeting adjourned at 10:28am with a motion from Trustee Brudnak and a second from Trustee Taboas. The motion was approved by unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully submitted, Penny Perdue Recording Secretary